saint luke benefit

Saint Luke Institute 2014 Annual Benefit was October 20

See photos of the evening here.

The Saint Luke Institute Annual Benefit, held each October near the Feast of Saint Luke, the patron saint of doctors and health care professionals, contributes significantly to our commitment to provide Catholic clergy and men and women religious with the spiritual, psychological and physical healing they need for healthy life and ministry.

Saint Luke Award

Kurtz-web.jpgDuring the Benefit, the friends of Saint Luke Institute gather to honor a person or persons whose professional life or charitable works embody the ideals of the Institute: the rebuilding of the spiritual, physical, emotional and intellectual life of clergy and men and women religious.

This year's honoree was The Most Reverend Joseph E. Kurtz, Archbishop of Louisville and President of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

Invitations and Tickets

Invitations for 2015 will be sent in early September and available for purchase online.

The Need 

Priests, sisters and brothers have supported us at the most significant moments in life. They educate our children, comfort us when we are sick and lonely, and bring our faith alive. When they are in need, Saint Luke Institute gives them compassionate, quality care.

Many congregations and smaller dioceses cannot afford to provide the treatment and care their members need. The Annual Benefit provides funds to help ensure that no clergy or religious is turned away because of financial need. Giving through the Annual Benefit is a way we all can help our priests, sisters and brothers get the support they need.

Annual Benefit funds also support education for healthy life and ministry for our clergy, religious and lay leaders.

Past recipients of the Saint Luke Award

SaintLukeBenefit-vigano-brophys-wuerl_web.jpg2014  Most Reverend Joseph Kurtz
2013  Raymond and Jeannette Brophy
2012  Most Reverend Paul S. Loverde
2011  Jane Belford, D.M.
2010  Most Reverend Pietro Sambi
2009  His Eminence Theodore Cardinal McCarrick
2008  Sandra Andreas McMurtrie, D.M.
2007  B. Francis Saul II, K.M.
2006  R. James Nicholson, K.M. and Suzanne Marie Ferrell Nicholson
2005  His Eminence Sean Cardinal O’Malley, O.F.M. Cap.
2004  Sister Mary Rose McGeady, D.C.
2003  Edmund D. Pellegrino, M.D.
2002  The Honorable Fred B. Ugast, K.M.
2001  The Honorable and Mrs. Pete V. Domenici
2000  His Eminence James Cardinal Hickey
1999  Thomas S. Monaghan